Which area is covered?

The cooperation area of the Alpine Space programme covers the Alps and their surrounding lowlands, connecting very distinct regions, such as the French Rhone Valley with the Slovenian Adriatic coast, and the metropolitan area of Milan with the Bavarian foothills.

This diverse area at the heart of the European Union represents an attractive region to work and live in, for 70 million inhabitants, covering a surface of 390.000 km² and comprising some of the most important European metropolitan areas. Furthermore, it is a major contact zone where different European cultures and languages (Germanic, Roman and Slavic) meet.

List of participating regions divided by country

  • Whole country
  • Whole country
  • Whole country
  • Whole country
  • Région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes*: Ain, Ardèche, Drôme, Isère, Loire, Rhône, Savoie, Haute-Savoie
  • Région Bourgogne-Franche-Comté*: Doubs, Jura, Haute-Saône, Territoire de Belfort
  • Région Grand Est* : Bas-Rhin, Haut Rhin
  • Région Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
  • Freiburg
  • Oberbayern
  • Schwaben
  • Tübingen
  • Friuli Venezia Giulia
  • Liguria
  • Lombardia
  • Piemonte
  • Provincia Autonoma di Bolzano / Bozen
  • Provincia Autonoma di Trento
  • Valle d'Aosta
  • Veneto