E-monitoring system (eMS)

eMS is a programme monitoring system through which all necessary project and programme information is collected and stored. The programme bodies also use the eMS to communicate with beneficiearies electronically via a secure online portal.

Eligibility criteria

These are sets of criteria which are used by JS and ACPs to perform the eligibility check which is the 1st step of the project assessment procedure. Compliance with these criteria assures that the EoI or AF meet the basic programme and call for proposals requirements. Only if the proposal passes the eligibility check, it is further evaluated against assessment criteria. Failure to comply with any of these criteria leads to outright rejection of the application/EoI.

See also Selection procedure.

EoI lead partner

It is the institution appearing as lead partner in the EoI. From the 1st to the 2nd step of application the lead partner role can be taken over by another institution. The EoI lead partner has to remain involved as lead partner or project partner also in the application form.

See also Expression of interest, Lead partner and Project applicant.

ERDF co-financing

The programme financial support provided to the project from ERDF. Combined with contribution it forms the total project budget.

European Commission (EC)

For all the necessary information, please click here.

European Regional Development Fund (ERDF)

An EU fund which is used to invest into several key priority areas, such as, "Innovation & Research", "Digital agenda", "Support of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), and "Low-carbon economy".The ERDF "aims to strengthen economic and social cohesion in the European Union by correcting imbalances between its regions."*

Read more about the ERDF here.

*Source: http://ec.europa.eu/regional_policy/en/funding/erdf/

European Territorial Cooperation (ETC)

"ETC, better known as Interreg, is one of the two goals of cohesion policy and provides a framework for the implementation of joint actions and policy exchanges between national, regional and local actors from different Member States."* The ETC's central goal is to promote a well-balanced economic, social and territorial development within the EU and with EU neighbour states. Interreg comprises the following fields of cooperation: cross-border (Interreg A), transnational (Interreg B) and interregional (Interreg C). Interreg is currently in its fifth programming period (2014–2020), it first started in 1990.

Read more about the ETC here.

*Source: http://ec.europa.eu/regional_policy/de/policy/cooperation/european-territorial/

European Union (EU)

For all the necessary information, please click here.

Expression of interest (EoI)

A short version of the application form which is used at the first application stage when programmes are using two-step approach to project application. The content of it is not binding in the case of submitting the full application form in the second step, but it should not depart significantly from what was initially proposed.