Alpine organisations

Alpine Convention

The Alpine Convention is an international treaty between eight Alpine countries (Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Slovenia and Switzerland). Its main focus lies on the protection of the Alpine natural environment and its inhabitants while promoting a continual development in this region. Its decision body, the Alpine Conference, is held every two years. In order to implement the convention, working groups are built to assess specific challenges and to establish new protocols and recommendations.

Find more information on the Alpine Convention here.


CIPRA is an autonomous non-governmental and non-profit umbrella organisation which promotes the protection and sustainable development of the Alps. It embraces a large network of Alpine organisations and institutions as well as representatives of seven Alpine states. CIPRA is engaged in promoting Alpine policies at international  level. One of its initiatives was the establishment of the Alpine Convention.

Find more information on CIPRA here.

Other Alpine organisations

Here you find more information about other Alpine organisations.

Alliance in the Alps


Alpine town of the year association

Club arc alpin

ISCAR: International scientific committee on research in the Alps